Global-Live-Resounding-Dec-2015.jpeg

News

UPDATE - RESOUNDING LIVESTREAM ON LOSAR

Published on 19 February 2017

84000 and Siddhartha’s Intent are pleased to announce that we will be live-streaming a special global resounding on LOSAR (Tibetan New Year) of some of the recently translated sutras from 84000’s Reading Room. People from more than 30 regions around the world will be gathering together locally, using the Zoom video-conference platform to recite the words of the Buddha together, with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche presiding. In addition, we welcome you to participate in the event via live-stream (link below); and “join" us by reading from the texts listed below.

UPDATE (2/23/17): During the Resounding, Rinpoche will be giving the oral transmissions of: Kagyu Ngondro, Longchen Nyingthik Ngondro, and Chetsun Nyingthik Ngondro.

The resounding will take place Monday, February 27th at 6:30am (Singapore) and will last approximately one hour.

Some Other Global times:

Sunday, ,Feb. 26, 2:30 pm (Los Angeles)
Sunday, Feb. 26, 5:30 pm (New York)
Sunday, Feb. 26, 10:30 pm (London)
Sunday, Feb. 26, 11:30 pm (Germany)
Sunday, Feb. 26, 7:30 pm (Brazil)
Sunday, Feb. 26, 4:30 pm (Mexico)
Monday, Feb. 27, 4:00 am (India)
Monday, Feb. 27, 6:30 am (Hong Kong/Taiwan/Shanghai)
Monday, Feb 27, 7:30 am (Japan)
Monday, Feb. 27, 9:30 am (Australia)

THE LINK FOR THE LIVESTREAM OF THE RESOUNDING IS:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Translate84000/live 

TEXTS:  Those participating in the resounding will focus on the following texts (though feel free to read any of the translated sutras or sutras in the language of your choice):

The Sūtra on Dependent Arising / རྟེན་ཅིང་འབྲེལ་བར་འབྱུང་བའི་མདོ།/ Pratītyasamutpādasūtra: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-062-012/title
The Sūtra on Wisdom at the Hour of Death/ འདའ་ཀ་ཡེ་ཤེས་ཀྱི་མདོ།/ Atyayajñānasūtra: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-054-003/title
The Question of Maitreya/ བྱམས་པས་ཞུས་པ།/ Maitreyaparipṛcchā: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-044-005/title
The Question of Maitreya on the Eight Qualities/ བྱམས་པས་ཆོས་བརྒྱད་ཞུས་པ།/ Maitreyaparipṛcchādharmāṣṭa: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-044-006/title
The Illusory Absorption/ སྒྱུ་མ་ལྟ་བུའི་ཏིང་ངེ་འཛིན།/ Māyopamāsamādhi: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-055-004/title
The Absorption That Encapsulates All Merit/ བསོད་ནམས་ཐམས་ཅད་བསྡུས་པའི་ཏིང་ངེ་འཛིན།/ Sarvapuṇya­samuccaya­samādhi: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-056-002/title
The Teaching on the Extraordinary Transformation that is the Miracle of Attaining the Buddha’s Powers/
སངས་རྒྱས་ཀྱི་སྟོབས་སྐྱེད་པའི་ཆོ་འཕྲུལ་རྣམ་པར་འཕྲུལ་པ་བསྟན་པ།/ Buddha­balādhāna­prātihārya­vikurvāṇa­nirdeśa: http://read.84000.co/#UT22084-061-006/title

MORE ON THE RESOUNDING:

What is a sutra resounding?

A sutra resounding is an ancient monastic tradition, during which the entire Tibetan Kangyur (Words of the Buddha) would be read aloud by monks. Each monk would be responsible for reading aloud a different section of the Kangyur, until it was read aloud in its entirety.

We are attempting to do the same thing, except that we will be reading from 84000’s recently translated sutras. This means:

·       Each of us will read a different sutra, or a different section from the same sutra.
·       We will not be reading the same sutra; we will create a cacophonous sound of many different words from many different translations.

What is the objective of a sutra resounding?

The objective of sutra resounding is to promote the reading, listening and learning of the actual words of the Buddha. On another level, it can be thought of as a means for sending the words of the Buddha into the universe as a blessing to the world, and/or as a means for making merit. This will be the first time that many of these particular translations will be ‘released’ into the universe in this way!

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES on RESOUNDINGS:

Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on the significance of reading the Words of the Buddha Under the Bodhi Tree (October 28, 2012) : http://84000.co/opening-address-by-dzongsar-khyentse-rinpoche/
Rabjam Rinpoche explains the methods and benefits of a resounding: http://84000.co/kangyur-resounding-from-east-to-west/

Past Resounding events:

2015 Global Online Resounding (Video): http://84000.co/global-live-resounding-2015/
First resounding under the Bodhi tree (October 28, 2012) http://84000.co/sutra-resounding-under-the-bodhi-tree/
First sutra resounding in New York led by HH Sakya Trizin (April 3, 2014) http://84000.co/84000-sutra-resounding-led-by-hh-sakya-trizin/
Resounding under the Bodhi Tree led by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche (October 27, 2014) http://84000.co/resounding-under-the-bodhi-tree/
Bodhgaya Resounding: An on-the-ground Report (October 27, 2014)  http://84000.co/bodhgaya-resounding-report/
HH Sakya Trizin’s Speech at Lumbini Resounding (December 6, 2014) http://84000.co/lumbini-resounding/

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact:  resounding2017@84000.co.

And, if for some reason you miss this event, the resounding will be recorded.

Happy Tibetan New Year (of the Fire Bird) to all from 84000 & Siddhartha’s Intent