莊嚴的三寶

14 February 2023
繪畫藝術
三寶藝術群展

莊嚴的三寶

 

藝術家 Daleast的作品“三寶”。 佛陀在上,佛法居中,以佛經為象徵,僧伽在下,以僧眾為代表。

三寶藝術群展

 

為慶祝《隨念三寶成就法》計劃二周年,我們為大家獻上一組線上展覽,著眼於不同的文化如何描繪三寶的象徵,並探索佛、法、僧三寶的當代藝術詮釋。這項展覽呈現了我們各自的地域和文化情感是如何被運用於傳統佛教藝術表達的。

 

三寶在不同佛教文化中有如此多樣的展現形式,這真是太引人入勝了。在古印度,三叉戟或三輪常作為三寶(梵文:tri-ratna或ratna-traya)的象徵,這在很多古代錢幣和石雕上都能看到。例如它裝飾了桑吉大佛塔的門。日本和韓國的佛寺屋頂繪有一個大圓圈內含三個小圓圈。西藏藝術中三寶(藏文:dkon-mchog gsum)常繪於唐卡畫像底端,周圍環繞著火焰。

 

左圖:印度中央邦桑吉大佛塔塔門上的三寶標誌。攝影:蔣揚桑波;右圖:韓國釜山海東龍宮寺屋頂上的三寶標誌。攝影:Aomam.

 

以下是部分藝術家對自己作品的闡釋 :

如珍王姆(Rigzin Wangmo):

“就像萬花筒投射出無限的可能性一樣,這幅畫描繪了三寶的無量功德。通過凈觀的訓練,我們可以將現實世界視為三寶的壇城,一個充滿色彩和各種可能性的生動幻象。希望你們喜歡這些火花。”

如珍王姆精美的藝術作品也成為悉達多本願會和欽哲基金會不久前出版的年曆的插圖。您可以在此處選擇下載29 種語言的年曆。

Lasha Mutual:

在這幅三寶的繪畫中,三個法輪代表佛、法和僧,由供養天女們恭敬地托起。這些法輪以閉關房的屋頂弧線為外框,四周鮮花綻放,象徵佛法興盛。”

Philippe Inácio-Goetsch:

“這幅畫是對把玩符號之苦樂極限的探索。它也是一種嘗試,用三分法構圖和幽默來探索佛、法、僧的形象和本質。有疑惑的時候,就‘把實相吃下去吧’”!

Chris Sprague:

三寶

“一條圓規線展開的嵌套設計的三部分組合結構,揭示了一系列強有力而相互關聯的幾何圖形: 三角形、橢圓形靈光、對稱透鏡、勒洛三角形、淚珠和金剛瑜伽母的彎月刀。這個簡單的三部分幾何圖形的力量和神秘感象徵著三寶的力量和神秘性,也暗示著空性和生命世界背後的幾何子圖形之無限創造潛力。”

禮敬三寶

“Namo ratna trayāya 是一個經典的梵文表述,意思是“禮敬三寶”。此處呈現的是霍里格(Horyig)蒙古文(又稱“巴思巴文”),該文字是薩迦派卓貢法王八思巴應忽必烈汗的要求創製的。

三個方形面板、三角形排列和三角圖案都象徵著三寶。八個外角象徵八正道。十二個三角形象徵著緣起共生的十二因緣,通過完全抹去部分黑色背景而從中顯現出的白色圖案,象徵著空性和它的創造力。

與當今臭名昭著的納粹標誌相反,萬字符是一種象徵福祉的圖案,在歐洲、亞洲、非洲和美洲的古代文化中都有發現。最早被證實的圖案來自公元前 10,000 年的烏克蘭。 

對佛教徒來說,萬字符是一個極其重要的符號,通常雕刻在佛陀胸前。來源於梵語su-asti,字面意思是“吉祥幸運”。在這裡,緊密相連的左旋和右旋萬字
符象徵著苯教對藏傳佛教世界的影響,以及經乘與密續間如左右手般的相互關聯。”

Share This Page

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Email

Highlight and copy the URL below

https://calendar.google.com/calendar/u/0/[email protected]

提交您的藝術作品

所有版權仍歸屬其原創作者,展出的作品將不能被下載或出售,我們可以添加藝術家本人網頁的链接。

宗薩欽哲仁波切教學行程

活動預告

當前未有活動列出。

14 February 2023
Paintings
Triratna Group Exhibition

The Beauty of the Three Jewels

 

“The Three Jewels” by Daleast. The Buddha (top), Dharma (middle, symbolized by scriptures), and Sangha (bottom, represented by an assembly of monks).

Triratna Group Exhibition

To celebrate the second anniversary of the The Triratna Anusmṛti Sādhanā project we are presenting an online exhibition that highlights the various cultural representations of the triratna symbol and explores contemporary interpretations of The Three Jewels—Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha. The exhibition shows how our own regional and cultural sensibilities can be applied to traditional Buddhist representations.

We find it fascinating that the Triple Gem has been shown in such a variety of ways in different Buddhist cultures. A trident or three wheels frequently represent the triratna (Sanskrit: tri-ratna or ratna-traya) symbol in ancient India. It may be seen on numerous ancient coins and stone sculptures. For example it decorates the gates of the Great Stupa of Sanchi. Buddhist temple roofs in Japan and Korea have three little circles inside a bigger circle painted on them. In Tibetan art the Three Jewels (Tibetan: dkon-mchog gsum) are frequently depicted on thangka paintings towards the bottom, encircled by flames.

 

Left: Triratna symbol on the stupa gate, Sanchi, Madhya Pradesh, India. Photo by Jamyang Zangpo. Right: The Three Jewels symbol on the roof of the temple Haedong Yonggungsa, Busan, South Korea. Photo by Aomam.

 

Here is what some of the artists have to say about their artworks:

Rigzin Wangmo:

“Just like a kaleidoscope projects infinite possibilities, this artwork portrays that boundless quality of the three jewels. By training in sacred outlook, we can see the true world as a mandala of the triratna, a vivid illusion rich in colours and potentials. Hope you enjoy the sparkles.”
Rigzin Wangmo’s beautiful painting also illustrates the calendar Siddhartha’s Intent and Khyentse Foundation published this month. You can download it here in one of the 29 languages.

Lasha Mutual:

“In this depiction of the Three Jewels, the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha are represented by three dharmachakras supported reverently by offering goddesses. The dharma wheels are framed by the arc of a retreat hut, and flowers bloom in the surroundings indicating the flourishing of the Dharma.”

Philippe Inácio-Goetsch:

“This painting was an exploration of the joy and painful limits of playing with symbols. It was also an attempt to use three-fold logic as well as humour to explore the images and essence of Buddha, Dharma and Sangha. When in doubt “Eat the Truth”!

Chris Sprague:

Triratna

“A single compass-drawn line unfolds nested tripartite figures and reveals a series of powerful interlinked geometric shapes; the triquetra, mandorla, symmetrical lens, Reuleaux Triangle, teardrop, and the crescent-shaped flaying blade of Vajrayogini. The power and mystery of this simple three-part geometry is symbolic of the power and mystery of the three jewels, and also suggestive of the infinite creative potential of emptiness and of the geometrical sub-structures underlying the living world.”

Namo ratna trayāya

“Namo ratna trayāya is a classical Sanskrit formulation meaning, “Homage to the Three Jewels.” It is rendered here in the Horyig (Mongolian) script, invented by the head of the Sakya Lineage Drogön Chögyal Phagpa at the request of Kublai Khan.

The three square panels, the triangular arrangement, and the triquetra motif all symbolize the Triratna (three jewels). The eight external corners symbolize the eightfold noble path. The twelve triangles symbolize the 12 links of interdependent co-arising, and the black back-ground giving rise through sheer absence to the white foreground figures symbolizes emptiness and its creative power.

The swastika, contrary to its recent infamy, is a motif symbolizing well-being found in ancient cultures across Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. The earliest attested form is from Ukraine in 10,000BCE.

For the Buddhists, the swastika is an extremely important symbol, often placed in sculptural form at the Buddha’s heart center. Deriving from Sanskrit su-asti, its literal meaning is ‘all is well’. Here, the interlocking left- and right-oriented swastikas are suggestive of the influence of Bon on the Tibetan Buddhist world, as well as the ‘right-‘ and ‘left-handed paths’ of sutra and tantra.”

Share This Page

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Email

Highlight and copy the URL below

https://calendar.google.com/calendar/u/0/[email protected]

Submit Your Art

All copyrights will stay with their creators, works featured will not be downloadable or sold by us, and we can include links to artists’ own webpages. We regret to inform you that submissions containing images generated by AI will not be accepted.

Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche's Schedule

Upcoming Events

No event found!